National Alumni/ae Board

Interior Masthead

Friends Select alumni association

The National Alumni/ae Board is designed to reinvigorate the school’s relationship with alumni/ae throughout the country, to establish a greater alumni/ae presence in the school and to provide representative alumni/ae perspective and input on a number of topics important to the school.

The Friends Select National Alumni/ae Board convenes in Philadelphia in October of each year. The schedule for the day consists of briefing sessions, business meetings, class visits, master classes, performances, social events and an all-school Meeting for Worship at the Race Street Meetinghouse. Members of the NAB are also invited to participate in focus groups, the results of which assist the school in planning for the future. The program culminates in the evening with an alumni/ae and faculty awards ceremony and after party.

Tenth Annual National Alumni/ae Board Meeting

Friends Select Alumni/ae representing graduating classes from 1951 to the present took part in alumni/ae activities during the ninth annual gathering of the National Alumni/ae Board on Friday, October 24, 2014. The agenda for the day was filled with classroom visits, lunch with upper school students, breakout sessions, presentations, and Meeting for Worship. The group voted this year to change their name from the National Board of Visitors to the National Alumni/ae Board.

The day concluded with an evening reception and the 2014 Friends Select School Teaching and Alumni/ae Awards Ceremony. Alumni/ae and Faculty receiving awards include:

Distinguished Alumnus Award
Clarence "Billy" Williams '85

Meritorious Service Award
Michael Noonan, Business Manager (1978 - Present)

Distinguished Teaching Award
Wendy (Waloff) Buckingham, English (1992 - Present)
Jayden Sampson, History (1998-2003)
Larry Butler, History and Religious Thought (1970 - 79)

2015-2016 FSS National Alumni/ae Board

Herbert Saltzman '46, member emeritus
Daniel R. Fascione ’49
J. Wilson Ferguson ’51
Judy Love Keogh ’55
Gerald Zeigerman '57
Steven J. Weiner ’58
Calvin S. Morris, Ph.D. ’59
William Blauvelt ’63
Fred Cohen '64
Robert Feldman ’65
Christopher McNeur ’65
Carol Lisker Kennedy ’66
Jane L. Brydon ’67
Richard Wolgin ’67
Allen B. Massiah ’69
Samuel L. Spear ’71
Richard H. Hunt, Jr. ’74
Daniel C. Scheffey ’74
Cindy Katz Wanerman ’74
Tracy L. Romans ’75
Barry Gessner ’76
Gabriella Jordan ’76
Robert Kusner '78
Sam Olshin ’78
Peter E. Jaffe ’80
Deanna McRae King ’80
Lisa Chapman Napoleon '80
Rebecca Sayles '80
Charles X. Block ’81
Rob Einhorn ’81
Steven D. Lawrence ’81
Adam Goldman '82
Martha Eisenberg ’85, President
Nina Pritzker-Cohen ’85
Elizabeth Chiaravalli '87
Mathieu Shapiro ’87
Holly-Jo MacMoran '92
Karla Zarate-Ramirez ’92
Corey S. Riley ’94
Fenita Moore ’97
Kristen A. Cox Santiago ’98
Christopher Arlene ’00
Mindy Paul '02
Kelli Sawyer '03