Middle School Bulletin

Middle School Bulletin 6/3

8th Grade Closing Ceremony Video
8th grader Jake Miller is putting together a video of class highlights for the 8th grade closing ceremony. Eighth grade families - please send Jake baby pictures, class photos from 8th grade and previous years in middle and lower school, pictures from parties and sleepovers, and anything else you care to share. Pictures and videos can be emailed or shared with Jake Miller (jakobm@friends-select.org).

7th and 8th Grade Final Exams | Monday, June 3 - Thursday, June 6
See here for the schedule. If you are giving your 7th or 8th grader permission to leave after their final exam, please email Tr. Des.

6th Grade trip to Cape May | Monday, June 3 - Tuesday, June 4
Please be at the school by 8:00 a.m. on Monday, June 3rd. 

Four in Philly Days for the 5th Grade | Monday, June 3-Thursday, June 6
Here is a link to the schedule of events.

5th Grade End-of-Year Celebration | Thursday, June 6, 8:30 a.m.
Parents are invited to join us on Thursday morning at 8:30 am as students share individual poems aloud and their poetry anthologies with our community. Poetry readings will begin promptly at 8:45 am. Refreshments will be served following the presentation. 

Middle School Picnic for 5th-7th Graders | Friday, June 7
Students in grades 5-7 leave for the picnic in the Dairy Fields in Fairmount Park after the closing ceremony. Students should dress for the weather, and bring a bagged lunch, water bottle, and sunscreen.

8th Grade Closing Ceremony | Friday, June 7, Race Street Meeting House, 8:15 a.m.
Here is a letter about the closing ceremony.8th graders should be at the meeting house by no later than 7:55 a.m. 8th graders are dismissed immediately after the reception following the ceremony.

Reminder: Please check out the middle school lost and found for clothing and supplies.

Enjoy your summer and we look forward to seeing you next year!


If you have questions about: Person: Contact Information

Overall education and school programs, academic policies, and guidance

Peter Cline
Middle School School Director

Peterc@friends-select.org
215-561-5900 ext 3123

Disciplinary matters, student clubs, social events, middle school service, scheduling concerns, student support, and guidance

Desiree Harmon

Middle School Dean

DesireeH@friends-select.org
215-561-5900 ext 3124

Your child’s overall well-being and academic performance, class schedule, academic advising please contact your child’s Advisor.
Advisories meet four times during the week. Advisors know advisees well and should be the first point of contact for most concerns or questions

Amanda Cartier-Brandon
5th Grade Advisor

Stephanie Demko
5th Grade Advisor

Fred Brown
6th Grade Advisor


Heather Gosse
6th Grade Advisor

Herb Kerns
6th Grade Advisor


Patrick Cassidy
7th Grade Advisor

Daniel Consiglio
7th Grade Advisor


Alexis Flack
7th Grade Advisor

Dan Capecchi
8th Grade Advisor


Fred Kogan
8th Grade Advisor

Anne Wentling
8th Grade Advisor

Amandacb@friends-select.org



Stephanied@friends-select.oeg


Fredb@friends-select.org


HeatherG@friends-select.org


HerbK@friends-select.org


PatrickC@friends-select.org


DanCo@friends-select.org


Alexisf@friends-select.org


DanC@friends-select.org


FredK@friends-select.org


AnneJ@friends-select.org

Concerns about a student’s emotional, mental, or social well-being

Natan Gottesman
School Psychologist

natang@friends-select.org
215-561-5900 ext 3138

Questions about learning accommodations or Peer tutoring

Molly Patterson

Middle School Learning Specialist

215-561-5900 ext. 3125
mollyp@friends-select.org

Health issues, questions about medications

KellyAnne Papianou
School Nurse

215-561-5900 ext 3114

Multicultural programs, affinity groups for parents and students, diversity-related questions

Naté Hall

Diversity Coordinator

215-561-5900 ext. 3122

natéh@friends-select.org


Athletic teams

Bill Klose
Athletic Director

215-561-5900 ext. 3135
billk@friends-select.org