Interior Masthead

Friends Select School is under the care of two Meetings of the Religious Society of Friends—Central Philadelphia Monthly Meeting (Race Street) and the Monthly Meeting of Friends of Philadelphia (Arch Street). The Board is comprised of 22 trustees, 12 of whom are directly nominated by the two Friends Meetings. The 10 at-large members (non-Quaker) are selected to attain a good balance of strengths within the whole of the Board. Current and past parents, as well as alumni, are well represented in the body.

There are a number of committees that work to support the mission of the school. These include: Head’s Advisory Committee; Committee on Trusteeship; Development Committee; Finance Committee; Quaker Life Committee; and Property Committee. As needed, special committees will be formed to work on the strategic plan, major fundraising campaigns, or significant building projects. The guiding principles of the Board are to sustain the financial stability of the institution, and to support the work of the Head of School. Therefore its most important work is to review and approve the annual budget, and to approve major initiatives, policies, and expenditures.

The Board of Trustees meets seven times during the school year. The schedule includes a September retreat and the Annual Members Meeting.

Pictured above L to R: Matthew Lee, Heath Meyers, Andrew Thompson, Ed Pappas, Sam Spear '71, Sherry Claypool, Ingrid Lakey '89, Suzanne Root '54, Ashley Searles, Elaine Lander, Natalie Valentine-Adams, Grant Johnson, Abby Schrader, Louise Langford, Rick Hunt '74.

Not pictured: Jeffrey Abrams, Benjamin Camp, Kemel Dawkins '68, Amit Shah, Jaimin Shah, Nancy Van Arkel, Elizabeth Widdicombe.

Board of Trustees

Jeffrey Abrams
Benjamin Camp
Sherry Claypool
Kemel Dawkins '68
Rick Hunt '74
Grant Johnson
Ingrid Lakey '89
Elaine Lander
Matthew Lee
Heath Meyers
Ed Pappas
Suzanne Root '54
Abby Schrader
Ashley Searles
Amit Shah
Jaimin Shah
Sam Spear '71
Andrew Thompson
Natalie Valentine-Adams
Nancy Van Arkel
Louise Verstegen
Elizabeth Widdicombe